Ottawa Tourism | Tourisme Ottawa

Back

Canada Day

Ottawa, Canada’s Capital, is the place to be July 1 for the country’s biggest annual birthday celebration. It’s a giant patriotic party on the lawns of Parliament Hill, Major’s Hill Park, Jacques Cartier Park and on the closed streets of downtown.

The crowds start to gather on Parliament Hill early, for a 9 a.m. carillon concert featuring the Peace Tower bells, followed by the official flag raising and the Changing the Guard ceremony. Be there at noon for a thrilling performance by the Snowbirds aerobatic team, and a noon hour show filled with cultural entertainment. Performers include Carly Rae Jepsen, Terri Clark and Metric to name a few and there will be a special appearance by Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield.

Excitement continues throughout the day at major sites and attractions downtown and across the Capital. The evening show on Parliament Hill features a stellar lineup of Canadian performers. And as always, the evening will be topped off by a giant fireworks show you simply don’t want to miss!

 

Fast Facts

  • Canada Day celebrates the anniversary of Confederation, when Canada became a country separate from the British Empire.
  • Parliament Hill is the focal point for Canada Day celebrations, with a giant stage featuring Canadian performers throughout the day, the noontime playing of Oh Canada and a flyby by Canada's Snowbirds aerobatics team and other military aircraft.
  • The celebrations spill over from Parliament Hill to venues on both sides of the Ottawa River, including Major's Hill Park and Jacques Cartier Park in downtown Gatineau, with fun and activities for people of all ages.
  • The day is capped-off with a massive fireworks finale visible from any vantage point downtown.
Back

Ottawa Tourism | Tourisme Ottawa

Précédent

Fête du Canada

Le 1er juillet, le meilleur endroit pour prendre part à la plus grande célébration de l’anniversaire du pays est sans contredits à Ottawa, la capitale du Canada. C’est une immense fête nationale qui se déroule sur la colline du Parlement, au parc Major’s Hill, au parc Jacques-Cartier et dans les rues du centre-ville fermées aux automobiles.

La foule commence à se rassembler tôt sur la colline afin d’assister au concert du carillon de la Tour de la Paix, qui débute à 9 h, suivi de la cérémonie officielle du lever du drapeau et de la Relève de la garde. À midi, c’est l’heure du vol acrobatique de l’escadron des Snowbirds, et d’un spectacle culturel divertissant. Les artistes invités sont Carly Rae Jepsen, Terri Clark et Metric pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns, ainsi qu’une présentation spéciale avec l’astronaute canadien Chris Hadfield.

La fête continue toute la journée aux principaux sites et attractions du centre-ville et dans l’ensemble de la capitale. À ne pas manquer en soirée sur la colline du Parlement, un spectacle haut en couleur qui regroupera une pléiade d’artistes canadiens, et le clou de la soirée comme toujours, le gigantesque spectacle de feux d’artifice!

 

Faits saillants

  • La fête du Canada célèbre l’anniversaire de la Confédération, alors que le Canada devint un pays séparé de l’Empire britannique.
  • La Colline du Parlement est le point central des célébrations de la fête du Canada, avec une scène géante mettant en vedette des artistes canadiens tout au long de la journée, le Ô Canada à l’heure du midi et le survol des Snowbirds, l’équipe de démonstration aérienne du Canada, et d’autres appareils militaires.
  • Les célébrations s’étendent de la Colline du Parlement jusqu’à des sites des deux côtés de la rivière des Outaouais, dont au parc Major à Ottawa et au parc Jacques-Cartier à Gatineau, où ont lieu des activités pour les gens de tous âges.
  • La journée se termine en beauté avec un impressionnant spectacle de feux d’artifice vu partout au centre-ville.
Précédent