Ottawa Tourism | Tourisme Ottawa

Back

Canadian Tulip Festival

Canadian Tulip Festival

 

2014 marks the 62nd edition of the Canadian Tulip Festival taking place May 9 through May 19.

This festival is a celebration founded on international friendship with the 1945 presentation of 100,000 tulip bulbs from Princess Juliana of the Netherlands to Ottawa, Canada’s capital, given in appreciation of the safe haven that members of Holland’s exiled royal family received during World War II in Ottawa and in recognition of the role which Canadian troops played in the liberation of the Netherlands.

The Canadian Tulip Festival is also a celebration of the return of spring, with over a million tulips in 50 varieties blooming in public spaces across the National Capital Region. The highest concentration of tulips can be viewed in the flower beds of Commissioners Park, on the banks of Dow’s Lake, where 300,000 flowers bloom.

Experience the festival at sites throughout the city. Visit www.tulipfestival.ca for more details.

 

Fast Facts

  • The Canadian Tulip Festival is the largest of its kind in the world, attracting some 600,000 visitors annually.
  • The first Canadian Tulip Festival was held in 1953 led by the Ottawa Board of Trade, at the suggestion of world renowned photographer Malak Karsh. Karsh is considered the founder of the Festival and his photographs have immortalized the tulip.
 

RELATED PACKAGES

Tulip Celebration

Tulip Celebration

Visit Ottawa this May and see the city come alive with colour when a million tulips create an exotic mosaic throughout the city.

LEARN MORE
 
Back

Ottawa Tourism | Tourisme Ottawa

Précédent

Festival canadien des tulipes

Festival canadien des tulipes

 

Le Festival canadien des tulipes de 2014 se déroulera du 9 au 19 mai. Ce sera sa 62e édition.

Ce festival est une fête de l’amitié internationale, née du don de 100 00 bulbes de tulipes qu’a fait la princesse Juliana des Pays-Bas en 1945 à la ville d’Ottawa, la capitale du Canada, en remerciement du refuge qu’Ottawa avait donné aux membres de sa famille en exil pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale et du rôle que les troupes canadiennes avaient joué dans la libération des Pays-Bas à la fin de cette guerre.

Le Festival canadien des tulipes fête aussi le retour du printemps en fleurissant les lieux publics de la région de la capitale du Canada d’un million de tulipes de 50 variétés. La plus forte concentration de tulipes se trouve dans les massifs du parc des Commissaires, au bord du lac Dow, qui en comptent 300 000.

Faites l’expérience de ce festival aux sites offerts dans toute la ville. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Web www.festivaldestulipes.ca.

 

Faits saillants

  • Le Festival canadien des tulipes est le plus grand du genre dans le monde. Il attire annuellement quelque 600 000 visiteurs.
  • C’est à la suite de la suggestion du photographe mondialement renommé Malak Karsh que le premier Festival canadien des tulipes a eu lieu en 1953, sous la direction de la Chambre de commerce d’Ottawa. Karsh est considéré comme le fondateur de ce festival et ses photographies ont immortalisé les tulipes.
 

FORFAITS CONNEXES

Vive les tulipes!

Vive les tulipes!

Visitez Ottawa en mai pour la voir parée de couleurs quand un million de tulipes créent une mosaïque exotique dans toute la ville.

CONTINUEZ
 
Précédent