Ottawa Tourism | Tourisme Ottawa

Back

TD Ottawa International Jazz Festival June 20 – July 1, 2014

TD Ottawa International Jazz Festival

 

This annual foray into jazz and surrounding genres is one of the biggest draws during Ottawa’s lively festival season. The TD Ottawa International Jazz Festival mixes big names from the world of jazz with a number of other inimitable artists. The combination of large outdoor concerts at Confederation Park and smaller, intimate shows at indoor spaces like the National Arts Centre’s Fourth Stage allows for variety in look and feel during the 10-day festival.

 

Fast Facts

  • The 10-day festival is staged each year from late June through early July, spanning Canada Day, celebrated annually each July 1st.
  • Concerts take place outdoors at Confederation Park in the heart of downtown Ottawa next to the Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and various other locations; club venues are also part of the mix.
  • Founded in 1981, the Festival has attracted jazz greats from across Canada and around the world, including Herbie Hancock, Dave Brubeck, Roy Haynes, Toots Thielemans, Branford Marsalis, Sonny Rollins, Diana Krall, D.D. Jackson, Maynard Ferguson, and John Mayall - to name a few.
  • The Festival features hundreds of performers - including approximately 300 Canadian performers in the lineup each year - and has attracted up to 180,000 fans.
Back

Ottawa Tourism | Tourisme Ottawa

Précédent

Du 19 juin au 1er juillet 2015 Festival international de jazz d’Ottawa TD

Festival international de jazz d’Ottawa TD

 

Cette incursion annuelle dans le jazz et les genres avoisinants est l’une de celles qui remportent le plus de succès au cours de la saison festivalière animée d’Ottawa. Le Festival international de jazz d’Ottawa TD mêle de grands noms de l’univers du jazz à un certain nombre d’autres artistes inimitables. La combinaison de grands concerts en plein air donnés au parc de la Confédération et de spectacles en salle, plus petits et plus intimes comme ceux de la Quatrième salle du Centre national des Arts, procure une variété d’aspects et d’ambiances pendant ce festival de 10 jours.

 

Faits saillants

  • Le festival se déroule sur une période de 10 jours, de la fin juin au début juillet, et inclut la fête du Canada, le 1er juillet.
  • Les concerts ont lieu au parc de la Confédération au coeur du centre-ville d'Ottawa aux abords du canal Rideau, au Centre national des arts ainsi qu'à divers autres endroits dont les scènes de certains clubs.
  • Créé en 1981, le festival a vu les plus grands musiciens de jazz du Canada et du monde sur ses scènes, Herbie Hancock, Dave Brubeck, Roy Haynes, Toots Thielemans, Branford Marsalis, Sonny Rollins, Diana Krall, D.D. Jackson, Maynard Ferguson et John Mayall, pour ne nommer que ceux-ci.
  • Le festival regroupe des centaines d'artistes – dont environ 300 Canadiens chaque année – et a attiré près de 180 000 fans.
Précédent